two for the price of one!

well, I finished reading “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” by Jean-Dominique Bauby.  I didn’t immediately post about this because the book hit me so hard and it took an entire week to process it! Even while I was reading my third book (which I will talk about in a minute) I could not stop thinking about this one.

Basically, it is a memoir written by a man who has locked-in syndrome.  Bauby suffered a stroke and ended up completely trapped in his own body.  His only method of communication is through his left eye…this is how he wrote his memoir…by blinking…Suffice to say, I thought this book would be difficult to read because Bauby is French and he wrote the book by blinking, but the prose was so beautiful and thoughtful and as a social worker in a long term care facility, it seriously made me think about how I communicate with those who have a difficult time communicating. I loved this book and will probably read it again.

For my next book, I picked “the Martian” by Andy Weir…I. Loved. this . book.  It is about a man who gets stranded on Mars and his unlikely survival…Even though it’s very math-y and science-y it didn’t go over my head.  The protagonist is really likable and very funny.  This is my favorite book of the year and I am fully recommending it to everybody!

Now I am reading “Defending Jacob” by William Landay…i just might be able to complete this resolution!

Leave a comment